City Council

The City Council is the elected governing body for the City of Cape Girardeau and consists of the Mayor and six City Council Members. The Mayor is directly elected at-large (city-wide) for a four-year term and the City Council Members are elected from six wards for staggered four-year terms. Cape Girardeau is a "home rule" city with the Council-Manager form of government.

Meeting Schedule

Meetings are held the first and third Monday of each month in the City Council Chambers at City Hall, with the Study Session starting at 5 p.m. and the Regular Session immediately following. Meeting agendas are posted by the end of the week prior to each meeting. View the City of Cape Girardeau's service schedule, observed holidays, and City Council meeting dates at

Due to local spread of the infectious COVID-19 disease, January 2021 Council meetings will be held virtually via Zoom. The Council Chambers are closed, there will be no in-person meeting or participation.

Watch Recent City Council Meetings

Meetings will be available live and to playback on Youtube

Meeting Participation

Everyone is welcome to contact their Council directly (find your representative in the menu) or by using our online form. The public is also welcome to speak before the Council at a public meeting about items on or off the agenda. These presentations, however, are often not met with an immediate response as Council considers the presented issue.

To participate in the virtual meeting, you must register via Zoom by 4 p.m. the day of the meeting.


Learn More, or Contact Council Members (see menu)

  • Contact Info
  • 401 Independence, PO Box 617 Cape Girardeau, MO  63703
  • Telephone 573.339.6320
  • Email